Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rear Bearing failure / Damaged swingarm

Rear Bearing failure / Damaged swingarm

Hey everyone,

I have been riding 2006 Buell XB9SX for about 4 years now and rarely ever had any issues with the bike, today however, things were different.
    I noticed an odd vibration while riding today, since it did not go away I decided to pull over and check the bike. I originally expected the issue to be a motor mount or some such thing, but it turned out that the left rear wheel bearing was completely shot.
    It basically had disintegrated to the point where there were no balls left and I could only see the outer race and a gaping hole.

After recovering the bike I took the rear wheel out.
    Obviously I will replace the axle, the spacer, the bearings (also in the front) and am thinking about replacing the swingarm as well.
    However, the reason why I am asking whether that is actually necessary is because I am not 100% clear about the function of the swingarm in pre-loading the bearings inside the rear wheel.
    What do you think will happen if I was to use the same swingarm with new bearings etc?

And oh yes, the wheel ran in such a wobbly way that the break disc chewed up the brake caliper mount ... I have no idea how the rear wheel did not lock up and how I didn't crash, but I certainly am not complaining!

Thanks,

Mariusdamagebearing3.jpg

Ouch! Thats bearings been bad for many miles. You will love how your bike rides and handles once it back together.

I'm normally a 'save it' kind of guy, but in your case I would add a replacement swing arm to the list for sure. It looks like the depth dimension of that standoff (basically a built in spacer) has been compromised.