Thread: Buell Common Mod

Buell Common Mod

I am still learning but I believe I have read enough about my 2008 Firebolt to learn about some of the modifications. I have a Jardine exhaust and I am in the process of learning how to check to see if the bike was tuned correctly for that muffler or not. I think that it has an airbox mod (correct terminology?) because I can hear the air intake like I could when I would take the airbox top off of my Honda ATV as a kid because I thought the sound was "cool" and I can also look in the little front screen next to the gas cap and see the air filter. My main questions are this:

I'm not worried about having a super powerful bike (its beautiful and strong enough as it is stock) and I want my bike to be close to original as possible. Does what I am talking about make sense? If what I am talking about is correct, is the airbox mod a good mod that you would recommend leaving? Can I order the airbox top new and put it on to get rid of the airbox noise and/or are there more components removed the during the mod that I would have to get as well?

When I come up to a stop or idle just perfectly it seems as though it kind of coughs and pops from time to time. is this something anyone else has experienced and/or is this somewhat common on the 1203 thunderbolt. Curious if it could possibly a tuning issue.

i want to learn about good and borderline necessary modifications for longevity but otherwise want it stock and vintage.

Anyone help or have any thoughts?