Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: XB9S Clutch Cable Replacement - New cable won't thread into the primary case?

XB9S Clutch Cable Replacement - New cable won't thread into the primary case?

Hello! I am replacing the clutch cable on my 2003 Buell XB9S and I've run into a problem when attempting to thread the new cable into the primary case. I know that this is the most delicate part of the entire replacement, and I've checked and rechecked that neither of the threads are stripped, but for some reason they still won't screw in together. If anyone has any advice on this (angles, techniques, need to remove certain parts, ect) I would really appreciate it!

Sorry if this is a very novice question! This is my first time wrenching alone and I'm hoping I'm just missing something very basic rather than colossally ****ing up.

Any other XB9S advice is always appreciated! Thank you in advance!

Quote Originally Posted by maybereda View Post
    Hello! I am replacing the clutch cable on my 2003 Buell XB9S and I've run into a problem when attempting to thread the new cable into the primary case. I know that this is the most delicate part of the entire replacement, and I've checked and rechecked that neither of the threads are stripped, but for some reason they still won't screw in together. If anyone has any advice on this (angles, techniques, need to remove certain parts, ect) I would really appreciate it!

Sorry if this is a very novice question! This is my first time wrenching alone and I'm hoping I'm just missing something very basic rather than colossally ****ing up.

Any other XB9S advice is always appreciated! Thank you in advance!
    Remove the cable from the bike completely and lay flat on the ground in line with the threaded hole in line with the cable from there you should be able to angle the cable upwards toward the hole. You may want place the cable on blocks of wood or something similar to hold the cable closer to the height of the hole.