Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Troubleshooting advice: Rough running XB

Troubleshooting advice: Rough running XB

Hello Buell XB people!

To make a long story short, I've just picked up a 2006 XB12X Uly that's been sitting for around a year and half. Got it running with a new battery, and on the way home could not help but notice how horribly rough it ran.

Throttle response was all over the place, it sputters and surges big time. The check engine light was on all the way home, and although it didn't cut out while idling, the RPMs would tend to flutter and drop.

Anyway, I'm really just looking for some basic advice on what to check, and would also welcome any thoughts as to how I can properly diagnose the trouble I'm having. I'm really new to Buell, and would be really grateful for any guidance.

Thanks!

With no info to go on, strangers on the internet will cost you money, time, and frustration. They can only be guesses and should be treated as such.

IMO step one: RTFM

Buellmods.com

Diagnostic chart is in the back

Sir: your Ulysses running condition is actually quite typical for these abandoned orphans. and usually the result of 1 or more of the following situations:
    1-failing fuel pump/loss of pressure hastened by extended lack of usage
    2-fouled spark plugs
    3-failing grounds resulting from corrosion/loose attachments
    4-weak/failing battery with loose/corroded cable connections
    5-vermin who have either eaten thru wiring insulation....or nested up under the airbox assembly...or both

as shaughn mentioned, download a free service manual @ buellmods....do some basic trouble-shooting on your own...and retrieve your historical fault codes. those are the key to the rough-running condition and why your CEL is active.
    and if you're in southern PA area, bring it by and i'll run the diagnostics for you on shop computer, free of charge.

OK, so unless you left out a bunch of details...