Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Buell x1 opinions

Buell x1 opinions

Hi all, i wanted to know about the reliability of a used x1 .you see my neighbor has a 2001 x1 and he is in some financial trouble and wants to get rid of this bike but the bike has been dropped (skuffed up the air box cover on right side,, the shifter linkge is very sloopy,and bike looks as if it hasn't had any matainace i think i can get this bike for 2000$ need opinions on x1 lightning thinks guys

I'm pretty new to Harley's, but it should be just as reliable as any used Harley Sportster, just way cooler. They are basically just a sportster in a sportbike frame.

Their are other differences, but essentially it's a sportster.

Um... No. Some basic parts do interchange, but with the exception of the engines core short block, Erik put his engineering hand on all of it for massive improvements in every metric.

Quote Originally Posted by Spldrong View Post
    Their are other differences, but essentially it's a sportster.
    That statement offensive to Erik Buells hard work, and us Buellers.

2001 HD Sportster 58HP, 64 Ft/lbs
    2001 Buell X-1 88HP, 77 Ft/lbs

Which is over a 50% increase in dependable HP output from the 'same engine', not even mentioning every bit of suspension, brakes, geometry......
    Last edited by Cooter; 12-13-2020 at 11:14 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Cooter View Post
    Um... No. Some basic parts do interchange, but with the exception of the engines core short block, Erik put his engineering hand on all of it for massive improvements in every metric.

That statement offensive to Erik Buells hard work, and us Buellers.

2001 HD Sportster 58HP, 64 Ft/lbs
    2001 Buell X-1 88HP, 77 Ft/lbs

Which is over a 50% increase in dependable HP output from the 'same engine', not even mentioning every bit of suspension, brakes, geometry......