Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 15 of 15

Thread: Neutral light went out temporarily

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Central Soviet state of new jersey.
    Posts
    2,531
    Barret, CC83, Both of you rock ! How many beers would you say the job is ?

  2. #12
    Senior Member jl551c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Nipomo, Ca and Lake Luzerne, NY
    Posts
    724
    Thanks guys, that's a tremendous amount of help. I'm gonna order the switch and when/if the light goes out I'll change it out.

    This might be the first glitch I've ever had on this bike. It's been rock solid reliable for years.

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Location
    Cleveland Ohio
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by njloco View Post
    Barret, CC83, Both of you rock ! How many beers would you say the job is ?

    Im just glad i could actually contribute to these forums instead of sucking them dry of whatever info im asking about or looking for.


    Well if you count grinding and cutting socket.......maybe a 2/3 beer job.
    Very simple and easy procedure. The best way would be to get a long deep socket so you can cut it around the front belt pulley. I had a deep socket but a longer one will work better. If I remember when I get home I will take a picture of mine and post it. But you should get the gist of what to do with video.

  4. #14
    Senior Member jl551c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Nipomo, Ca and Lake Luzerne, NY
    Posts
    724
    Green light went out again. I took the opportunity to try to start in in neutral with clutch in and out. It wouldn't start with clutch out, but started with clutch in, so I think that confirms the switch is bad. So I ordered the switch today from my local HD dealer. $17.50. Another thing, I did notice some back firing and lower idle RPM as stated above. Posting for posterity.
    Quick question: Has anyone tried a crow's foot to get at that switch? I'm still ready to tear up a socket, but just wondering.

  5. #15
    Senior Member Cooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Crawling up your skirt
    Posts
    9,698
    The crows foot attachments I have are too thick. Hence the needle nose solution. Needle nose vise grips work too if you have a set Its not on there very tight and theres no pressure behind it. It seals crankcase oil with a copper crush washer.
    The tiny flat jaw adjustable pliers are awesome too and one of my favorite types of pliers:
    Knipex:
    Screen Shot 2021-11-19 at 5.41.35 PM.png



Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •