Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Considering a Buell Ulysses, have some questions.

Considering a Buell Ulysses, have some questions.

Good evening,
    I've been kicking around buying a Ulysses for a couple years now, and I think I'm going to pull the trigger shortly. I've been riding since the '80s, started out on dirt bikes, did a lot of liter class stuff, and ended up on a BMW k1600gt. The k16 was an amazing machine, but because my driveway is gravel and off camber, getting it in and out of the garage wasn't that much fun. It also took longer than a quick run to the store to get the bike turned around.
    I want something light, and that is capable of doing dirt roads in Vermont where I live.
    My first question is am I totally out of my mind buying a 17-year-old bike with the expectation of jumping on it and riding it around?
    Besides the rear wheel bearings, are there any other real gotchas on them? I haven't had an air-cooled bike since probably 1995, is there anything I need to know there? There are none that I can find for sale in the northeast, and I would like to buy one jump on a plane with my gear and ride it home.
    And thank you very much!!!

They are out there but like any older vehicles check tire age and condition brake linings and fluid condition. If you go south for it the higher heat seems to deteriorate the drive belt. Check the lights especially the headlights hotter weather combined with HID or higher wattage halogens can deteriorate the reflective coating inside.
    Have the bike independently inspected and serviced as needed then fly and enjoy the trip home.