Thread: Roadrace XB9S against the SV650 (etc) in lightweight class?

Hybrid View

Roadrace XB9S against the SV650 (etc) in lightweight class?

Hello,

I bought a 2003 XB9 Lightning a few months ago. I use it mainly for commuting and am really liking the bike.

Back in the 90's I used to roadrace jap 600cc inline 4's, this is my 1st v-twin of any kind.

I am thinking about doing 1 race per year at Brainerd Int Raceway. I would have to enter lightweight superbike, and would be racing against mainly Suzuki SV650's. The track configuration that I'd be racing on is the competition course, which is 2.5 miles long, with turn 2 being the fastest corner. Back when I raced jap 600's, I remember aiming to enter turn 2 at 130, slowing down from going through turn 1 at 155 - on the speedo.

I have had my xb up to 130 and it seemed to have a little more, but that was about it.

Do you think that the SV's will embarrass me? I was an expert racer back in 1997, but would be entering novice class these days.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Sure! If you prep it right it will take the abuse no problem, so have fun with the bike you own. You won't be going 155mph on a 20 year old 900 twin, but you'll have a really fun time

Last edited by Cooter; 06-25-2022 at 05:16 AM.

Nice pics! Where were you riding, what bikes?

That's me on my EBR and my Bubbles on her very first bike ever only 2.5 years ago, a Blast! Loudest bike on the track that day In So Cal mostly, Chuckwalla, Buttonwillow, Willow Springs... this year we are racing the CRA series but missing the Laguna Seca date in Monterey right NOW because of work

You could say she's come long way!

Not any racing, or even track days news goes on here, check out forums.13x.com for racing news and info (WERA), and the best racebike for sale section I've found http://forums.13x.com/index.php?foru...s-for-sale.48/. It's sort of like here with a bunch of characters, knowledge. and a whole lotta snark