Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New around here, Want a few suggestions.

Hi everyone, I'm new to motorcycling and Buells. I bought my Black 2004 XB12s in October, used with 20k miles on it. It was taken care of pretty well and runs like a champ. However I'm a bit of a motorhead, and have started the modification process.
    The bike came with bar end mirrors, that are rather solid, and adjustable levers, though they don't look to be special, not Pazzo's or anything, and what appears to be a crankcase breather mod, mounted rather slickly to the left side air scoop. Also He removed all the logos and decals on the body pieces and put on frame pucks.
    Here's the stuff I'm currently in the middle of doing
    -K&N: Done
    -Hawk Muffler: at hawk now, damn good customer service!
    -ECMspy and cable to do a TPS reset: On the way from ebay
    -Jacks: bought a cheap set
    -Cheese Grater chop: at hawk too
    -Speedo face plate: got a custom one from the french guy =P
    -Turn signals: Bought LED's for front and back
    -S10 gas mask: Had to have one, on it's way from Brittan
    -I bought a rear brembo brake off a ducati monster 695 on ebay, and a master cylinder off a ktm, that looks the same as the one I need for the conversion and on the next paycheck I'll get the bracket from dark horse.
    -Right side air scoop: Buellsterparts on the next paycheck.

Things I need to consider
    -Wheels: My translucent amber ones have some chips in the powdercoating from where tires were installed by previous owner. I don't know if I should get them redone, get new ones, or just get touch up paint. Also I think I like black with red pinstripe better
    -Tires: I'm pretty sure I'm going to need a new set during the next riding season.
    -Header wrap: I think it kind of looks cool, upsides/ downsides?