Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 1125R good choice for a first bike?

So that is the question. I recently decided to learn to ride and took the local MSF course. In addition to that I have some experience on my friends 07 CBR600RR. I was busy shopping CL for a bike and stumbled across an 08 Buell 1125R. The bike is basically new (less than 100 miles). I really like the looks, but I am wondering if a liter bike is a good choice for someone as novice as I am. I have no urge to track the bike what so ever. I am a decent sized guy 6'0 185lbs and I want something that will fit me well. The CBR is ok, but honestly not as comfortable as it could be. I think Buells are gorgeous bikes, I just am not sure if the big Buell is a good choice for me at my current riding level. I am 30 so there’s no doing 150 on the freeway and splitting traffic in my future. I want something reliable and with good handling for driving around town.

You're kidding right? The 1125R is NOT a starter bike for anyone regardless of age. And if you're thinking you "won't" be trying to race it every once in awhile, you've definitely not mature enough. Be aware that Buells are no longer in production, so parts will begin to be hard to find in a couple of years... just my 2 cents...

I say get a xb12r firebolt. Start off driving it real easy. You will get comfortable with it, with in a month. Make sure you adjust the suspention as the book says for you weight. Have fun. You wont have a need for an 1125. Not by the way you describe yourself. I have a firebolt xb12r and it is as much as I will ever need. It has plenty of torque with out the uncontrollable HP serges, to pull your ass around.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f3aUObJIEnM

if you want to have a great bike and your days of tearing up the freeway @ 150mph are past you then maybe one of the XB's would more suited for you, fantastic handleing, tons of torque and a more relaxed riding position...